PDA

View Full Version : My shot at a Chiefs mock draft

cjsfw2
04-07-2010, 12:00 AM
I've never done this before so be understanding in your criticism...

1. Eric Berry, S, Tennessee - we take a playmaker on defense an add an immediate starter to an area of severe weakness for this team last year

2a. Terrence Cody, NT, Alabama - I do believe he falls this far. And if he does, I think Pioli snatches him up quickly.

2b. Vladimir Ducasse, OL, UMass - Sounds like this guy can play RT or either guard position which would provide us with some much needed depth behind Waters, Lilja, and O'Callahan. Could even push O'Callahan for the starting RT job.

3. Jordan Shipley, WR/KR, Texas - Chiefs fill a huge need here. This guy has great hands and could be a great slot WR for us and provide some KR/PR relief for Jamaal Charles. Some mock drafts had Brandon Spikes, ILB, Florida falling this far and beyond but I have a hard time believing that will be true.

4. Ricky Sapp, DE/OLB, Clemson - Would be drafted higher if not for some injury concerns, but this guy could be the understudy to Vrabel for a year (or more) as well as rotate in on passing downs to help pressure the QB opposite Tamba Hali.

5a. Larry Asante, S, Nebraska - giving some much needed depth to our safeties as really Jarrad Page is our only real starting quality safety (McGraw is good backup/special teams guy, but not a solid starter). This pick could be Darell Stuckey, S, Kansas if he's not off the board.

5b. Alterraun Verner, CB, UCLA - college standout who has the talent to push Brandon Carr for the #2 corner spot, but at least provide good depth with our 4th round pick from last year Donald Washington.

5c. LeGarrette Blount, RB, Oregon - big physical runner to complement Charles and provide some attitude to our offense (yep he's the guy who punched the Boise State idiot last year).

Needs not addressed by this mock are ILB and another OL, but can you really expect to fill all your needs in one draft?