PDA

View Full Version : Lawn advice needed

Guru
10-10-2007, 06:20 PM
Do we have any lawn experts on here? I have been fighting my yard for 2 years to get grass growing and am having ZERO results. I even paid a lawn company this year for fertilizing and insect/weed control. The weeds were down but the lawn itself looks even worse than it did this time last year.

I have so many bare areas I can't even keep seed around because mother nature always pulls his practical joke on me by sending a downpour the day after I seed and washing it all away.

I don't want a perfect lawn just a decent lawn.

Guru
10-10-2007, 07:19 PM
Nobody?

Chiefster
10-10-2007, 07:42 PM
Nobody?

Sorry bud; wished I could help, but I have no lawn experience at all.

chief31
10-10-2007, 08:21 PM
Do we have any lawn experts on here? I have been fighting my yard for 2 years to get grass growing and am having ZERO results. I even paid a lawn company this year for fertilizing and insect/weed control. The weeds were down but the lawn itself looks even worse than it did this time last year.

I have so many bare areas I can't even keep seed around because mother nature always pulls his practical joke on me by sending a downpour the day after I seed and washing it all away.

I don't have that problem. I just don't mow and Boom! All kinds of stuff grows.

DrunkHillbilly
10-10-2007, 08:47 PM

What kind of seed are you spreading? I would assume Rye at this time of year. After you spread the seed, you should put a fair amount of manure on it to keep it from washing away. Watering needs to be about 3 times a day for about 2- 4 mins per. Maybe 7am, 12pm and again at 4 or so. The seed needs to stay moist but not soaked. The manure provides a good saturation for the seed and keeps it wet. You should mix in a good Scott's winter lawn fertilizer with the seed so it spreads evenly. That's how we do it out here and it works great.

Chiefster
10-10-2007, 10:03 PM