PDA

View Full Version : Bengals starting LT is out, Sunday.



chief31
10-11-2007, 11:12 PM
Bengals' Anderson to end streak of 116 consecutive starts

Associated Press

CINCINNATI -- Right tackle Willie Anderson (http://www.nfl.com/players/willieanderson/profile?id=AND603240) will be sidelined for the Cincinnati Bengals (http://www.nfl.com/teams/cincinnatibengals/profile?team=CIN)' game Sunday in Kansas City, ending his streak of 116 consecutive starts and leaving the offensive line in flux.
The Bengals (1-3) hoped that their bye week would allow them to get back some of their injured players, but they're still severely limited heading into a pivotal game.
http://www.chiefscrowd.com/forums/images/imported/2007/10/55.jpgTom Pidgeon / Getty ImagesWillie Anderson's streak of 116 consecutive starts started with a Bengals team that finished the 1999 season 4-12.
Linebackers Ahmad Brooks (http://www.nfl.com/players/ahmadbrooks/profile?id=BRO114525) and Rashad Jeanty (http://www.nfl.com/players/rashadjeanty/profile?id=JEA428791) are expected to miss the game, leaving a hole in one of the league's worst defenses. Running back Rudi Johnson (http://www.nfl.com/players/rudijohnson/profile?id=JOH653266) and linebacker Caleb Miller (http://www.nfl.com/players/calebmiller/profile?id=MIL154181) also sat out practice on Wednesday with lingering injuries.
There was one encouraging sign: <A href="http://www.nfl.com/players/chadjohnson/profile?id=JOH104425" s_oc="null" _extended="true">Chad Johnson (http://www.nfl.com/players/chadjohnson/profile?id=JOH103818)</A _extended="true"> fully participated in practice. The Pro Bowl receiver wore a boot on his left foot last week, helping him recover from a mild ankle sprain.
"We'll be fine," Chad Johnson said. "I think that bye was perfect. We've got a lot of people coming back that will be healthy."
Actually, it's not that many. And the list doesn't include Anderson, who has anchored the line during his 12-year career.
Anderson hasn't missed a game since 1999, putting together the sixth-longest streak in franchise history and the longest by an offensive lineman. He had to leave a 34-13 loss to New England on Oct. 1 after the first series.
Anderson has been bothered by chronic pain in his right foot, which forced him to sit out most of training camp. While playing with that problem, he has also hurt the leg -- coach Marvin Lewis has forbidden him to get into specifics.
"You guys know I haven't been myself, obviously, because I haven't played a lot," Anderson said Wednesday. "You guys have seen that I haven't been up to my usual standards. I was able to play with it last year. I've played with it for a year or two now. Other things have come up."
Anderson expects to be back in the lineup at some point this season, although he can't guess how soon that will be. He never put much emphasis on the streak.
"My job is to show up every Sunday, whether I was playing hurt," Anderson said. "It just so happened to be how many weeks it was. I never played to keep a streak going."
Stacy Andrews (http://www.nfl.com/players/stacyandrews/profile?id=AND726755), who started the first three games at left guard, will move to right tackle while Anderson recuperates. Levi Jones (http://www.nfl.com/players/levijones/profile?id=JON583094) is expected to start at left tackle even though he limped through the loss to New England.
Right guard Bobbie Williams (http://www.nfl.com/players/bobbiewilliams/profile?id=WIL150887) is the only lineman who hasn't been moved around because of injuries. Despite all the shifting, the Bengals have given up only five sacks in four games.
"Considering all the shuffles and everything that's going on, I feel we've done a good job," Jones said.
The defense has been a mess.
The Bengals were down to two healthy linebackers against New England after Landon Johnson (http://www.nfl.com/players/landonjohnson/profile?id=JOH399476) got poked in the eye and left with blurry vision. He's expected to play in Kansas City.
Without Brooks and Miller, the Bengals didn't have an experienced middle linebacker. Brooks strained groin muscles in a game Sept. 16 at Cleveland, and aggravated the injury while practicing for the New England game.
"We're having problems at the linebacker position right now," Brooks said. "That's the position where we need help the most. That's a position where we're struggling, and we need people to step up and contribute."
Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press

http://www.nfl.com/news/story;jsessionid=AAFB7EEB5A024EF8C6A717148C939922? id=09000d5d80326148&template=without-video&confirm=true

This could be some very big news, as Jared Allen is hungry.

m0ef0e
10-11-2007, 11:15 PM
Look for JA on some stunts.

hermhater
10-11-2007, 11:19 PM
Sweet! I might have to go and adjust some of my bets!

chief31
10-11-2007, 11:19 PM
RT Levi Jones is expected to slide into the LT spot, leaving RG Stacy Andrews to play at RT.

Jones has been hampered by injury too. What this means is that Allen, Hali and co. will be pass-rushing aginst a very scrambled, and injured offensive line.

Hopefully, we will get enough pressure to keep the Bengals from getting comfortable on offense.

m0ef0e
10-11-2007, 11:24 PM
RT Levi Jones is expected to slide into the LT spot, leaving RG Stacy Andrews to play at RT.

Jones has been hampered by injury too. What this means is that Allen, Hali and co. will be pass-rushing aginst a very scrambled, and injured offensive line.

Hopefully, we will get enough pressure to keep the Bengals from getting comfortable on offense.

Which is why I say watch those stunts. Jared Allen is going to have a good game.

m0ebr0
10-11-2007, 11:47 PM
Theyre line might be as bad as ours this game. Great for us!

hermhater
10-12-2007, 01:22 AM
This could be out ticket to ride folks!

Jared Allen 6 sacks, 15 tackles, and he gets an int!

Tamba Hali will mess with their heads all game!

sling58
10-12-2007, 08:32 AM
this is what we need so we can get pressure on Carson so he can't get it to the deep threat WR's they have. Go ALLEN!!!!!!!!!

Chiefster
10-15-2007, 12:53 AM
Look for JA on some stunts.

Allen took up residence in the Bungles offensive backfield. :yahoo:

hermhater
10-15-2007, 12:56 AM
Allen took up residence in the Bungles offensive backfield. :yahoo:


I wish the Bengals hadn't benched Levi Jones in the second half.

JA would have gotten another sack and alot of us would have cleaned up in the Sportsbook!