PDA

View Full Version : Bought a new latop today.



honda522
07-12-2009, 01:02 AM
Been having problems with the old one, so I finally got around to a new one. Went to Best Buy and was looking for one that I saw on the internet. I find one that was alittle more pricey but probably worth.

I filled out an app for credit and they approved me for 1100 bucks. Way to much for me. Anyways 0% interest for 6 months, going to pay it off in 4.

Cost me 700 bucks after tax.

hermhater
07-12-2009, 02:08 AM
Woot!!!

AussieChiefsFan
07-12-2009, 10:22 AM
Here down under from now on we get free school laptops in year 9 at school! I don't know if you can go on any site though. If you can, I'll be on the crowd A LOT!:D:yahoo:

honda522
07-12-2009, 10:47 AM
what did you do with your old PC?
Going to give it back to my cousin.

AussieChiefsFan
07-12-2009, 10:49 AM
Going to give it back to my cousin.
I wonder what he's gonna say. :D

hermhater
07-12-2009, 10:58 AM
Thanks?

AussieChiefsFan
07-12-2009, 10:59 AM
Thanks?
Thanks to what? :confused:

hermhater
07-12-2009, 11:05 AM
For giving him a computer?

AussieChiefsFan
07-12-2009, 11:06 AM
For giving him a computer?
I'm confused, are you asking about giving him a Computer?

honda522
07-12-2009, 06:50 PM
I wonder what he's gonna say. :D
It was Her's to begin with.

hermhater
07-12-2009, 07:47 PM
He gave it back to her.

AussieChiefsFan
07-12-2009, 10:27 PM
It was Her's to begin with.Oh, right, sorry. :bananen_smilies046:

AussieChiefsFan
07-12-2009, 10:48 PM
I have been trying to get back online all day today/ Someone hacked into my router and changed the info that connects me to my ISP. Took me about 7 hours to figure out what happened. Either it was a joke or somebody was trying to hyjack my signal for some reason. I have a password on it now that I maty not even remember without looking at the friggin thing.D@mn

Bike
07-13-2009, 07:45 PM
The ISP company I do part time work for just got done upgrading all of their servers, I now have all new equipment and service with 8 mbps internet.Life is fun when it is coming at ya fast :D
Fast is good.

Bike
07-13-2009, 07:58 PM
The ISP company I do part time work for just got done upgrading all of their servers, I now have all new equipment and service with 8 mbps internet.Life is fun when it is coming at ya fast :D
We live out in the boonies. No cable. No DSL. The only way we can get decent internet is through Verizon. It works, but it ain't cheap...

Bike
07-13-2009, 08:31 PM
I also live in the Boonies and the only reason I have this ISP available is they are a small company that does Internet for basically the rual area for 4 counties and I have one of their towers which is a T3 tower 50 yards from my house. Part of my job is to make sure nobidy vandalizes the tower and also to keep it up and running for this quadrant of the service area.If that tower was not here I would be like you with Verison or Direct TV . I am super lucky as my ISP gives us unlimited bandwidth usage. It is called Coon Valley Coop. They do Internet thru the Iowa Networking System and also do Cell Phone service too. I count my blessings for sure.
That is awesome. I think Verizons tower is 3 miles away and I have to run 2 usb repeater cables to the modem outside in a coffee can to get broadband reception. Oh well. The price I paid for livin' in the country!!

Chiefster
07-13-2009, 08:37 PM
What kind of laptop did you get?

Bike
07-13-2009, 08:39 PM
What kind of laptop did you get?
I didn't get one.

Chiefster
07-13-2009, 08:41 PM
I didn't get one.

I was talking to honda.

Bike
07-13-2009, 08:43 PM
I was talking to honda.
Story of my life...

Chiefster
07-13-2009, 08:45 PM
Story of my life...

Why yes; yes it is. :p

Bike
07-13-2009, 09:50 PM
You might wanna check into Direct TV as they use a Sattilite and they also set their custpmers up with AOL Premium. Last time I checked it is like $60 a month but you need to have the dish put on your house by a Pro and lease the equipment. Set up is around $200 which includes the lease but it has a 2 year contract. Only time you lose the signal is during really bad weather or your turned off LOL..
OK I'll look into that. Hey you know how to post a pic from computer in a post?

AussieChiefsFan
07-13-2009, 09:52 PM
OK I'll look into that. Hey you know how to post a pic from computer in a post?
When you are posting scroll down and you will see a manage attachments button. Click it and you can choose to upload a pic from your PC.

Anyone know how to post a video from your PC?

:bananen_smilies046:

Bike
07-13-2009, 09:53 PM
When you are posting scroll down and you will see a manage attachments button. Click it and you can choose to upload a pic from your PC.

Anyone know how to post a video from your PC?

:bananen_smilies046:
I don't see no manage attachments button...

AussieChiefsFan
07-13-2009, 09:54 PM
I don't see no manage attachments button...
Scroll down the page. Under the sub-heading 'Additional Options'.

Bike
07-13-2009, 09:56 PM
Scroll down the page. Under the sub-heading 'Additional Options'.
Don't see that either. All I see is Go advanced...

AussieChiefsFan
07-13-2009, 09:58 PM
You can upload to you tube or Photobucket as they allow videos , I usually use my online File Manager in my hosting .Youtube always blocks my videos due to copyright. SO annoying!
And joining photobucket I'll look into. But can you upload any videos on Myspace?

:bananen_smilies046:

Bike
07-13-2009, 09:58 PM
Anyone else watching Super Bowl 13 on NFL Network?
Good game even though the Chiefs aren't in it.
No I'm still tryin to figure out how to post a pic. I'm a stupidhead...

Bike
07-13-2009, 10:21 PM
If you click on reply or quote in this thread you scroll down and will see a button that says
Manage Attachments
Click on that and follow their directions. I never have used it but it looks easy you can do it!
Ok finally got that far but it says pic is 2.4 mb and only allows 195 kb or something. Man - what a pain just to post a pic. I don't think I'll ever figure it out.

AussieChiefsFan
07-13-2009, 10:25 PM
Don't see that either. All I see is Go advanced...
Here is a picture showing you exactly where it is!

Bike
07-13-2009, 10:33 PM
Here is a picture showing you exactly where it is!
That was awesome! But it don't work for me....

AussieChiefsFan
07-13-2009, 10:35 PM
That was awesome! But it don't work for me....
Hmm, maybe you can go into your control panel and look for options the "additional Options" in posts.

:bananen_smilies046:

Bike
07-13-2009, 10:36 PM
Hmm, maybe you can go into your control panel and look for options the "additional Options" in posts.

:bananen_smilies046:
Well I fugured out how to upload pic but it says pic too big so it don't work...

AussieChiefsFan
07-13-2009, 10:38 PM
Well I fugured out how to upload pic but it says pic too big so it don't work...
Yeah, that's why it took me so long to upload that picture for you. I had to edit the settings for a while.


:bananen_smilies046:

Bike
07-13-2009, 10:39 PM
Yeah, that's why it took me so long to upload that picture for you. I had to edit the settings for a while.


:bananen_smilies046:
Hmmmm. Wish I knew how to do that stuff. And did you see the pics of Canadas' tatoo? those pics were huge but I can't upload even a small pic...

AussieChiefsFan
07-13-2009, 10:42 PM
Hmmmm. Wish I knew how to do that stuff.
Eventually, I just used photoshop.

Bike
07-13-2009, 10:43 PM
Eventually, I just used photoshop.
Well - that leaves me out.

AussieChiefsFan
07-13-2009, 10:43 PM
Well - that leaves me out.
You don't have photo shop?

Bike
07-13-2009, 11:05 PM
You don't have photo shop?
Not that I know of...

AussieChiefsFan
07-13-2009, 11:06 PM
Not that I know of...
Alrighy then.

hermhater
07-14-2009, 02:26 AM
What's the issue in here?

Chiefster
07-14-2009, 02:30 AM
I thought we were talking about a laptop.

hermhater
07-14-2009, 02:37 AM
It sounds like it's moved on to Photoshop.

Chiefster
07-14-2009, 02:44 AM
It sounds like it's moved on to Photoshop.

It appears that you are correct.

AussieChiefsFan
07-14-2009, 02:50 AM
I thought we were talking about a laptop.Why yes, we were.


It sounds like it's moved on to Photoshop.Why yes, we have.


It appears that you are correct.
Why yes, it is.

hermhater
07-14-2009, 02:53 AM
And now Yahoo Messenger is all messed up.

Let's move onto that.

I connect through Pidgin, and Yahoo keeps changing the servers.

It's annoying.

AussieChiefsFan
07-14-2009, 02:54 AM
And now Yahoo Messenger is all messed up.

Let's move onto that.

I connect through Pidgin, and Yahoo keeps changing the servers.

It's annoying.
MHO is that MSN is a lot better.

hermhater
07-14-2009, 02:55 AM
With Pidgin you have MSN, Google chat, Yahoo Messenger, and Skype all in one program.

AussieChiefsFan
07-14-2009, 03:03 AM
With Pidgin you have MSN, Google chat, Yahoo Messenger, and Skype all in one program.
Wow.

Chiefster
07-14-2009, 06:48 PM
And now Yahoo Messenger is all messed up.

Let's move onto that.

I connect through Pidgin, and Yahoo keeps changing the servers.

It's annoying.


Stupid Yahoo! :11:

AussieChiefsFan
07-14-2009, 08:54 PM
Stupid Yahoo! :11:
:bananen_smilies046:

hermhater
07-14-2009, 11:35 PM
I got it fixed.

It was a bug in the older version if Pidgin.

Updated to the newest version and it works.

AussieChiefsFan
07-14-2009, 11:50 PM
I got it fixed.

It was a bug in the older version if Pidgin.

Updated to the newest version and it works.
Okay...

hermhater
07-15-2009, 12:48 AM
It's better than OK.

It's cool.

Chiefster
07-15-2009, 12:58 AM
I'll be the judge of that. :p

hermhater
07-15-2009, 12:59 AM
Are you using it now?

Chiefster
07-15-2009, 01:03 AM
Are you using it now?

Yuppers. :)

Well, it's meebo.

AussieChiefsFan
07-15-2009, 01:05 AM
Yuppers. :)

Well, it's meebo.
Oh, I remember Meebo. It's pretty simple.

hermhater
07-15-2009, 01:14 AM
Is that browser based?

AussieChiefsFan
07-15-2009, 01:16 AM
Is that browser based?
Meebo - Connecting AIM, MSN, Yahoo, Facebook, MySpace messengers (http://www.meebo.com/)

hermhater
07-15-2009, 01:18 AM
Looks that way.

AussieChiefsFan
07-15-2009, 01:21 AM
Looks that way.
Yep.

hermhater
07-15-2009, 02:04 AM
Huh?

AussieChiefsFan
07-15-2009, 02:06 AM
Huh?
Don't worry.

hermhater
07-15-2009, 02:21 AM
If you say so.

hermhater
07-15-2009, 06:52 PM
Norton 360 is crap.

Took me a few weeks to realize just how crappy it was, but Symantec is living up to their terrible reputation.

hermhater
07-15-2009, 08:30 PM
No one has to take my advice, but if they are smart they take it.

Chiefster
07-15-2009, 11:14 PM
Norton 360 is crap.

Took me a few weeks to realize just how crappy it was, but Symantec is living up to their terrible reputation.


Yup, McAfee is no better IMO.

Adaware, Malwarebytes and Spyware Doctor is what I use to protect my PC.

Bike
07-17-2009, 11:59 AM
Yup, McAfee is no better IMO.

Adaware, Malwarebytes and Spyware Doctor is what I use to protect my PC.
All good choices. And easy on the wallet.

Chiefster
07-17-2009, 12:58 PM
All good choices. And easy on the wallet.

Eggsactly! :)

hermhater
07-18-2009, 02:47 AM
Good judgment and script blockers are the safest way to be on the internet.

Chiefster
07-19-2009, 02:10 AM
Good judgment and script blockers are the safest way to be on the internet.

Yup!

Chiefster
07-19-2009, 02:13 AM
I just use Norton 360 and as long as I keep it updated which it does automatically , I have no problems at all. Even though we never know when a threat will hit our PC the best way to keep your PC safe is to always know the source you download from and don't go to places that are known virus havens. Basically, porn hubs , Yahoo chat rooms those are 2 definate places your PC gets attacked instantly. If you are gonna do a video chatroom it is wise to turn up your firewall defenses, the connection is an instant avenue for threats.


Lime Wire and other file sharing programs are absolutely infamous for this sort of thing.

hermhater
07-21-2009, 03:45 AM
Any updates on the new laptop?

hermhater
07-21-2009, 03:48 AM
Hmmmm. Wish I knew how to do that stuff. And did you see the pics of Canadas' tatoo? those pics were huge but I can't upload even a small pic...

Did you get skoolin yet?

Chiefster
07-21-2009, 01:55 PM
Did you get skoolin yet?

Skoolin is good.

hermhater
07-21-2009, 02:01 PM
Yes it is, but did he figure it out yet?

Bike
07-21-2009, 02:18 PM
Did you get skoolin yet?
Yeah, but I lost interest.

hermhater
07-21-2009, 02:53 PM
I mean can you post a picture yet?

Bike
07-21-2009, 04:45 PM
I mean can you post a picture yet?
Yeah I guess you have to use a photo editing program to get them down to size - I think...

hermhater
07-21-2009, 05:18 PM
I think that's only if you add it as an attachment.

If you have the link to the picture on the web you can just click that little icon above where you type that is a yellow square with a mountain and a sun in it.

The paste the location of the picture in there and hit OK.

Bike
07-21-2009, 06:04 PM
I think that's only if you add it as an attachment.

If you have the link to the picture on the web you can just click that little icon above where you type that is a yellow square with a mountain and a sun in it.

The paste the location of the picture in there and hit OK.
Thanks I'll give it a shot..

hermhater
07-21-2009, 07:51 PM
Well?

Chiefster
07-21-2009, 08:28 PM
Well?

......

hermhater
07-21-2009, 11:30 PM
Did it work?

Bike
07-21-2009, 11:33 PM
Did it work?
I'm on the road. Can't try it out till I get back home...

hermhater
07-21-2009, 11:34 PM
Ok, but don't forget.

Inquiring minds want to know...

Chiefster
07-21-2009, 11:36 PM
In my old age I've learned to be less inquisitive.

hermhater
07-21-2009, 11:37 PM
Ok then only one mind wants to know.